dev stack:
English Русский Español

Suicidal Tendencies

1982 / Present
United States United States

Rating: 3.57

Band Suicidal Tendencies



Early Career, Controversy, & First Hiatus (1981–1986) Suicidal Tendencies formed in 1981 as a punk band in Venice, California. The original lineup of the band consisted of Mike Muir on vocals, Mike Ball on guitar, Carlos "Egie" Egert on drums, and Mike Dunnigan on bass. After the recording of their first demo, Carlos Egert left the band and was replaced by Dunnigan's brother, Sean. Muir, at the time a student at Santa Monica College, originally only intended Suicidal Tendencies as a "party band", but as they grew in notoriety he soon found the band at the center of his life. Suicidal Tendencies had a rough start including being voted "Worst Band/Biggest Assholes" in Flipside in 1982 but the following year were voted "Best New Band". There were many rumors of the band members as well as their friends and followers being involved with gangs (especially the Venice White Boyz), with Muir's trademark blue bandanna and violence at the band's performances as evidence. In their original lineup photo, which can be seen inside their self-titled debut album, drummer Amery Smith is wearing a flipped up hat and under the bill are the markings "V13", which are initials for the gang Venice 13. Though there were probably a handful of V13 members who also became ST fans, Amery was not a member of V13 but bassist Louiche Mayorga's brother Steve Mayorga was (and that's whose hat he's wearing for the photo). Eventually an entire gang sprung up around the group, the Suicidal Cycos (also known as the Suicidals, Suis or Suicidal Boyz) with chapters in Venice, Long Beach, Santa Monica, Orange County, Oceanside, San Diego and even a chapter in San Antonio, Texas.

Read full Bio


Mike Muir (lead vocals)
1980 - Present
Dean Pleasants (electric guitar)
1995 - Present
Dave Lombardo (drums)
2015 - Present
Ra Díaz (electric bass guitar)
2015 - Present
Jeff Pogan (electric guitar)
2015 - Present
Nico Santora (electric guitar)
2012 July - 2016 May
Michael John Morgan (electric bass guitar)
2013 - 2015
Eric Moore (drums)
2007 - 2013
Tim "Rawbiz" Williams (electric bass guitar)
2010 - 2014 August
Thomas Pridgen (drums)
2014 March - 2013
Mike Clark (electric guitar)
1986 - 2012 May
Stephen Bruner (electric bass guitar)
2001 - 2010
David Hidalgo Jr. (drums)
2004 - 2006
Ronald Bruner, Jr. (drums)
2000 - 2003
Brooks Wackerman (drums)
1996 - 2000
Josh Paul (electric bass guitar)
1996 - 2000
Rocky George (electric guitar)
1983 - 1994
Robert Trujillo (electric bass guitar)
1988 - 1994
Jimmy DeGrasso (drums)
1991 - 1994
Josh Freese (drums)
1990 - 1991
R.J. Herrera (drums)
1985 - 1990
Bob Heathcote (electric bass guitar)
1986 - 1988
Ric Clayton (electric bass guitar)
1987 - 1987
Louiche Mayorga (electric bass guitar)
1981 - 1986
Amery Smith (drums)
1981 - 1983
Jon Nelson (electric guitar)
1982 - 1983
Grant Estes (electric guitar)
1981 - 1982

Fans of Suicidal Tendencies (0)

No fans yet. Be first :)

ShoutBox for Suicidal Tendencies

CTRL+ENTER = Send Comment


Studio Album

Album has 8 releases
Album has 4 releases
Album has 3 releases
Album has 4 releases
Album has 2 releases
Album has 4 releases
Album has 5 releases
Album has 4 releases
Album has 2 releases
Album has 2 releases
Album has 3 releases
Album has 1 releases


Album has 1 releases
Album has 1 releases