dev stack:
English Español Русский
United Kingdom
1975 June / Present


Motörhead were a British heavy metal band formed in London, UK in 1975 by bassist, singer and songwriter Ian Fraser Kilmister (24 December 1945 – 28 December 2015), known mostly by his stage name Lemmy, who has remained the sole constant member. The band pre-dated, but are sometimes regarded as part of, the New Wave of British Heavy Metal, which re-energised heavy metal in the late 1970s and early 1980s. Motörhead is also regarded as, with Judas Priest and Accept, one of the first Speed Metal bands.

Motörhead are typically classified as heavy metal, and their fusion of punk rock into the genre helped to pioneer speed metal and thrash metal. Lemmy dislikes such labels, preferring to describe the band's music simply as "rock 'n' roll" and usually opening live shows with the line "We are Motörhead. We play rock and roll." Usually a power trio, Motörhead had particular success in the early 1980s with several successful singles in the UK Top 40 chart. The albums Overkill, Bomber, Ace of Spades, and particularly No Sleep 'til Hammersmith, cemented Motörhead's reputation as one of Britain's foremost rock bands.

Read full Bio


Lemmy Kilmister
since 1975 till 2015 Bass, Lead vocal
Phil Campbell
since 1984 till 2015 Guitar
Mikkey Dee
since 1992 till 2015 Drum set
Phil “Philthy Animal” Taylor
since 1975 till 1984 Drum set
since 1987 till 1992 Drum set
since 1984 till 1995 Guitar
Eddie Clarke
since 1976 till 1982 Guitar
Pete Gill
since 1984 till 1987 Drum set
Larry Wallis
since 1975 till 1976 Guitar
Brian Robertson
since 1982 till 1983 Guitar
Lucas Fox
since 1975 till 1975 Drum set

Fans of Motörhead (1)

ShoutBox for Motörhead

CTRL+ENTER = Send Comment