dev stack:
English Español Русский
United States
1991 / Present


Down is an American southern stoner metal/southern metal band formed in 1991 in New Orleans, Louisiana. The band is a supergroup, comprising current and former members of Pantera, Corrosion of Conformity, Crowbar, Superjoint Ritual, Eyehategod and Kingdom of Sorrow. Since its inception, Down has released three studio albums and has gone on hiatus twice to focus on the members' respective bands.

Down formed in 1991 with vocalist/songwriter Phil Anselmo of Pantera, guitarist Pepper Keenan of Corrosion of Conformity, second guitarist Kirk Windstein of Crowbar, bassist Todd Strange of Crowbar, and drummer Jimmy Bower of Eyehategod. All of the band members were long-time friends and were known from their respective bands, making them a supergroup. The band made a three track demo for underground trading. The band members would ask heavy metal fans if they have "heard of this band Down" and give them a copy of the tape without telling the person that they were in the band.Eventually, the tape was distributed throughout the United States and Down played a small concert in its hometown. A record executive from Elektra Records was attending the show to find out who the members of Down were. When he found out the members of the band, he signed Down to a recording contract.

Read full Bio


Pepper Keenan
since 1991 Guitar
Phil Anselmo
since 1991 Lead vocal
Jimmy Bower
since 1991 Drum set
Kirk Windstein
since 1991 till 2013 Guitar
Todd Strange
since 1991 till 1999 Bass
Patrick Bruders
since 2011 Bass
Rex Brown
since 1999 till 2011 Bass
Bobby Landgraf
since 2013 Guitar

Fans of Down (0)

No fans yet. Be first :)

ShoutBox for Down

CTRL+ENTER = Send Comment