dev stack:
English Español Русский
United Kingdom
1976 October / Present


Wire is a band formed in 1976 in Watford, England and after splitting in 1980, have reformed three times. They consist of Colin Newman (vocals, guitar), Graham Lewis (vocals, bass) and Robert Gotobed (drums). Founding guitarist Bruce Gilbert left in 2004. In 2008, Margaret Fielder McGinnis of Laika joined the band as their touring guitarist, but as of 2010 has been replaced by Matt Simms.

Wire's debut album, Pink Flag (1977), contains songs which are diverse in mood and style, but most use a minimalist punk approach, unorthodox structures, and several songs are under a minute in length; "Field Day For The Sundays" is only 28 seconds long.

Read full Bio


Colin Newman
since 1976 Lead vocal, Guitar
Graham Lewis
since 1976 Bass, Lead vocal
Bruce Gilbert
since 1976 till 2006 Guitar
Robert Gotobed
since 1976 till 1990 Drum set
since 1999 Drum set
Matthew Simms
since 2010 Guitar

Fans of Wire (0)

No fans yet. Be first :)

ShoutBox for Wire

CTRL+ENTER = Send Comment