dev stack:
English Español Русский
United States
1965 / Present


The Grateful Dead was a rock band that formed in 1965 in San Francisco, California, United States from the remnants of another band, "Mother McCree's Uptown Jug Champions," The Grateful Dead were known for their unique and eclectic songwriting style which fused elements of rock, folk music, bluegrass, blues, country, and jazz, and also for live performances of long modal jams. The group disbanded immediately after the death of singer/guitarist Jerry Garcia in 1995.

The Grateful Dead consisted of: Jerry Garcia (vocals, guitar; 1965-1995), Bob Weir (guitar, vocals; 1965-1995), Phil Lesh (bass, vocals; 1965-1995), Bill Kreutzmann (drums, 1965-1995), Mickey Hart (drums; 1965-1970, 1974-1995), Ron "Pigpen" McKernan (keyboards, organ, harmonica, vocals; 1965-1972), Tom Constanten (piano; 1968-1970), Keith Godchaux (keyboards; 1971-1979), Donna Jean Godchaux (vocals; 1971-1979), Brent Mydland (keyboards, vocals; 1979-1990), Bruce Hornsby (keyboards; 1990-1992) and Vince Welnick (keyboards; 1990-1995). All of these members, with the exception of Hornsby (who was their induction presenter), were inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in 1994. Lyricist Robert Hunter - who wrote many of the band's songs - is often considered to be an unofficial member of the band and was also inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame with the rest of the band.

Read full Bio


Jerry Garcia
since 1965 till 1995
Bill Kreutzmann
since 1965 till 1995
Bob Weir
since 1965 till 1995
Phil Lesh
since 1965 till 1995
Mickey Hart
since 1967 till 1971 Unknown
since 1975 till 1995 Unknown
Brent Mydland
since 1979 till 1990 Keyboard
Ron “Pigpen” McKernan
since 1965 till 1973
Keith Godchaux
since 1971 till 1979 Unknown
Donna Jean Godchaux
since 1972 till 1979 Unknown
Vince Welnick
since 1990 till 1995 Unknown
Tom Constanten
since 1968 till 1970 Unknown

Fans of Grateful Dead (0)

No fans yet. Be first :)

ShoutBox for Grateful Dead

CTRL+ENTER = Send Comment