dev stack:
English Español Русский

History Jamiroquai

United Kingdom
1992 / Present

History Jamiroquai

Jamiroquai is a funk/acid jazz band which formed in London, England, United Kingdom in 1992. The band currently consists of Jason Luis 'Jay Kay' Cheetham (vocals), Matt Johnson (keyboards), Rob Harris (guitar), Paul Turner (bass), Derrick McKenzie (drums) , Sola Akingbola (percussion), Lorraine McIntosh (backing vocals) and Hazel Fernandez (backing vocals). The name "Jamiroquai" is derived from the Native American Iroquois tribe, with which Kay has said he identifies philosophically, combined with 'Jam', as in musical jamming.

After Jay Kay auditioned unsuccessfully to be the singer of the Brand New Heavies, he decided to put together his own band. Jamiroquai's first single, "When You Gonna Learn?", was released in 1992 on the Acid Jazz label. Following its success, Kay signed a £1,000,000 eight-album record deal with Sony BMG Music Entertainment. The band enjoys worldwide popularity and is the best-known member of the early-1990s London-based acid jazz movement, alongside groups such as Incognito, Galliano, and Corduroy. Jamiroquai has since, however, moved in other musical directions.

Band Members:

Jason "Jay" Kay - Vocals

Rob Harris - Guitar

Derrick McKenzie - Drums

Paul Turner - Bass

Sola Akingbola - Percussion

Matt Johnson - Keyboards

Lorraine McIntosh - Backing vocals

Hazel Fernandez - Backing vocals

Former Members:

Toby Smith - Keyboards (1992-2002)

Wallis Buchanan - Didgeridoo (1992-2001)

Gavin Dodds - Guitar (1993-1994)

Simon Katz - Guitar (1995-2000)

Stuart Zender - Bass (1992-1998)

Nick Fyffe - Bass (1998-2003)

Nick Van Gelder - Drummer (1993)

Darren Galea aka DJ D-Zire - Turntables (1993-2001)

Adrian Revell - Flute, saxophone

Winston Rollins - Trombone

Simon Carter - Keyboards (1999-2001)

Sia - Backing Vocals

Sam Smith - Backing vocals (2001-2007)

Text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License