dev stack:
English Español Русский
United Kingdom
1977 / Present


Simple Minds is a Scottish pop and rock band that achieved its greatest worldwide popularity from the mid-80s to the early 90s, still playing to a massive fan-following today. The group, from the South Side of Glasgow, has produced a set of critically acclaimed albums in the early 80s. It also has secured a string of successful hit singles, the best known being their #1 worldwide hit single "Don't You (Forget About Me)", from the soundtrack of the John Hughes movie The Breakfast Club and their worldwide hit single "Alive and Kicking". The band has sold more than 40 million albums since 1979, breaking to the U.K. Top 40 chart a full 24 times.

Founding members Jim Kerr (vocals) and Charlie Burchill (guitar, keyboards), along with drummer Mel Gaynor, are the core of the band. It also currently features Andy Gillespie on keyboards and Ged Grimes on bass guitar. Formed in late 1977 from the ashes of punk rock group Johnny & the Self Abusers (which had only created one single), Simple Minds initially signed to Arista, who recorded and released their first three albums. As the the Self-Abusers, they had had a very raw and unpolished sound, playing their first gig in a Glasgow bar on Easter Monday in 1977. “When we were onstage it was mayhem,” Kerr later said. “No one could play a note. It was just white noise... took us about six months to become serious about it.”

Read full Bio


Jim Kerr
since 1977 Lead vocal
Charlie Burchill
since 1977 Guitar, Keyboard
Mel Gaynor
since 1982 till 1992 Drum set
since 1997 till 1998 Drum set
since 2002 till 2018 Drum set
Mark Taylor
since 1991 till 1998 Keyboard
since 2005 till 2007 Keyboard
Derek Forbes
since 1978 till 1985 Bass
since 1996 till 1998 Bass
Sarah Brown
since 2017 Lead vocal, Background vocals
Gordon Goudie
since 2017 Keyboard, Background vocals, Guitar
Andy Gillespie
since 2002 till 2017 Keyboard
Ged Grimes
since 2010 Bass
Eddie Duffy
since 1998 till 2010 Bass
Michael MacNeil
since 1978 till 1989 Keyboard
Brian McGee
since 1977 till 1981 Drum set
Catherine Anne Davies
since 2014 till 2018 Background vocals, Keyboard
Cherisse Osei
since 2017 Drum set
Malcolm Foster
since 1989 till 1995 Bass
Berenice Scott
since 2020 Keyboard
John Giblin
since 1985 till 1988 Bass
Robin Clarke
since 1985 till 1986 lib/muslib/membership_type_1, Lead vocal
Tony Donald
since 1977 till 1978 Bass
Kenny Hyslop
since 1981 till 1982 Drum set
Mark Schulman
since 1994 till 1995 Drum set
Duncan Barnwell
since 1978 till 1978 Guitar
Mike Ogletree
since 1982 till 1982 Drum set
Jim McDermott
since 1997 till 1997 Drum set
Mark Kerr
since 1999 till 1999 Drum set
since 2001 till 2001 Acoustic guitar

Fans of Simple Minds (0)

No fans yet. Be first :)

ShoutBox for Simple Minds

CTRL+ENTER = Send Comment